Address : Church Road, III Block,
Katipalla P.O. 575030
Phone : 0824-2271328; 8277939348
Email : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Catholics : 1613 , F: 391

P. P. : Rev. Valerian Lewis
(from 2019 onwards)
Phone : 09448870124
Email : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Prayer Hall: St Sebastian, Krishnapura


Franciscan Sisters of St Mary’s of the Angels
Superior: Sr Saumiya
St Mary’s Home for the Aged (FSMA)
Katipalla P.O. 575 030. Phone : 0824–2270442


1. Infant Mary Pre-Primary Eng.Med. School
    Phone : 0824–2270214
2. Infant Mary Hr. Primary Eng.Med. School
    Phone : 0824–2270214
3. Infant Mary English Medium High School
    Phone : 0824–2270214


Former Priests :

P. P. : Rev. Andrew D’Souza (2018 - 19)
P. P. : Rev. Alwyn Edward D’Cunha (till 2018)


Katipalla is the only parish in Mangalore Diocese dedicated to Infant Mary.  Fr Charles Nazareth, the parish priest of Surathkal offered the first mass under the pandal made of sago palm fronds on September 8, 1967.  Under his leaderhip the construction of church building began.

Fr Peter S. Noronha took over the charge as the Parochial Administrator on May 1, 1968.  He resided at the house of Mr William D’Souza and offered mass at the incomplete church building.  The new church building built by Fr Noronha was inaugurated on September 8, 1968.  With some parts of Kulur, Surathkal and Pezar parishes Katipalla became a parish on December 1, 1968 and Fr Peter Noronha was appointed as the first parish priest.

Fr Noronha began a poultry farm and the Agricultural Co-operative Society.  The agricultural returns were so good that Mr B.D. Jatti (Vice-President of India and earlier Chief Minister of Karnatka) visited this site and appreciated it. All India Radio interviewed of Fr Noronha twice on how agricultural societies would benefit from his experience.

Fr Mark D’Sa began the construction of the belfry and Fr Remigius Aranha the grotto.  Fr Simon constructed a prayer hall for the members of Alchoholics Anonymous.  Fr Charles Lewis constructed a Hall.  Bishop Basil D’Souza helped financially to repair the church and build the compound wall.

Mr Thimothy D’Souza donated the bell. Bishop J.B. Sequeira, presently Bishop of Chikmagalur, hails from this parish.

Fr Antony V. Lewis is the 7th parish priest of Katipalla.

Home | AboutNews | Contact | Sitemap

Copyright ©2014 Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

Bishop's House,
Mangalore - 575 003
Phone: +91 824 2440524 (4 lines) 2447933, 2420517
Fax 91-824-2444035

E-Mail: [email protected]