July 3, 2017: Queenie Mariya D’Costa of Siddakatte has been elected the President of Young Catholic Students (YCS), Mangalore Diocese.

The election was held during the Annual General Body Meeting of the Diocesan YCS, which aims at 'Building a New Society by Self Change, with the Methodology of Awareness - Reflection - Action', on Sunday July 2nd  at Shantikiran, Bajjodi here.

The day was inaugurated by Jesvita Quadras, the National President of YCS/YSM, followed by ice-breaking session conducted by the YCS Diocesan Executive Committee. Mr. Richard Alvares Kulshekar conducted a workshop on the role and responsibility of the office-bearers and leadership. After the Holy Mass the election for the new committee was held with the guidance of Mr Ronald D’Silva, the YCS Diocesan Election Commissioner for the Day. Merita Albuquerque, the outgoing Secretary presented the Annual Report. The YCS/YSM Diocesan Director Fr Rupesh Madtha addressed the students about the vision of YCS in the diocese.









The Concluding Ceremony was presided over by Most Rev Dr Aloysius Paul D'Souza, the Bishop of Mangalore. Viola D’souza, the outgoing Yuvathare Editor of YCS welcomed the gathering. This year we celebrate the 135th Birth Anniversary and 50th Death Anniversary of Cardinal Joseph Cardijn the Inspirational Founder of the Movement. He was declared Servant of God on January 16th 2014, and his canonization progress is in progress. At this background, the Bishop lighting the lamp before the portrait of the Founder, declared this year - ‘Cardijn Year’ for YCS Mangalore Diocese and the Diocesan Director prayed a prayer for the cause of canonization. Lavita Dsouza, the outgoing President and Merwin Pais, the outgoing Yuvathare Sub Editor shared their experience in the last year. Fr Rupesh Madtha, the Director led the oath-taking and handing-over ceremony.

The newly-elected Office Bearers of YCS Mangalore Diocese 2017-18 are:

President: Queenie Mariya D’Costa, Siddakatte
Vice- President: Elton Glenwil Pinto, Bajal
Lady Vice- President: Violin D’costa, Belthangady
Secretary: Melneetha Correa, Derebail
Joint Secretary: Nevin D’cunha, Permude
Treasurer: Linda Clara Gonsalves, Ranipura
Yuvathare Editor: Joswin Lobo, Agrar
Yuvathare Sub- Editor 1: Flexon Lobo, Fermai
Yuvathare Sub - Editor 2: Nishal Lobo, Madanthyar
Regional Rep.1: Vidya Vinitha Veigas, Arva
Regional Rep. 2: Royden Glen Colaco, Kelarai
Liturgy and Cultural Secretary: Vreethan Harold Pinto, Bajjodi
National President: Jesvita Princy Quadras, Angelore

The lucky coupon winners and Best Selling Units were honoured during the occasion. The Bishop felicitated the newly appointed Diocesan Animator, Mr. Prajwal Sequeira. Mr. Arun Siddakatte was thanked for his service as the Diocesan Animator for the past 6 years. The YCS/YSM Mangalore Annual magazine YUVATARE was also released.  
The Bishop gave a call to the young students to instill values in themselves. The outgoing YCS Diocesan Executive Committee was felicitated with momentos and certificates.
















Arolin D’souza compeered the programme and Avil D’souza thanked the gathering. Diocesan DAC members Lanwin Lobo Urwa, Roshan Lobo Vamanjoor  and Mervin J. Vas Ferar  were present on this occasion. As many as 275 leaders from different Parish YCS Units participated.


Ms Samatha Saldanha, Kulshekar – President of YSM Mangaluru 2017-18


Young Students’ Movement (YSM), Mangaluru,   Annaual General Body Meeting was held on 24th June 2017 and Ms Samantha Saldanha Kulshekar has been  elected the President for the year 2017-18. 

Comments powered by CComment

Home | AboutNews | Contact | Sitemap

Copyright ©2014 www.dioceseofmangalore.com. Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

Bishop's House,
Mangalore - 575 003
Phone: +91 824 2440524 (4 lines) 2447933, 2420517
Fax 91-824-2444035

E-Mail: [email protected]