Media Release

Oct 14 : The Industry and Innovation Group of St Joseph Engineering College (SJEC), Vamanjoor, hosted 82 students of St Jacobs Higher Primary School, Farla, on Friday, 11th October 2019. Farla is a small town in Navoor which is one of the villages adopted by SJEC.

To commemorate the birth anniversary of India’s Former President Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, the Innovation Cell under Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India is promoting conduction certain activities at Engineering institutes across India. The visit by school kids was an attempt by SJEC to join hands with MHRD and pay tribute to Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, who is one of the greatest innovators our country has seen to date.

The school kids ranging from 3rd to 7th standards were greeted by the college authorities with great gusto and several student clubs of the college presented their work to the kids. During this visit, the students were introduced to the innovation facilities at SJEC and went through a series of interactive sessions on the importance of innovation and its prospects.

The student teams that interacted with the school kids included Team SJEC Racing which works on All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV), Team ACHILLIUS which works on Electric Solar Car, Team eSJEC Racing which works on Electric All-Terrain Vehicle, Team ARTEMIS Racing which works on Go Karting, SJEC AERO team and Automation & Robotics Club (ARC-SJEC).

Post the presentations, the school kids visited the innovation facilities available at SJEC and explored a few of the projects developed on campus.

The students of St Jacobs Higher Primary School were accompanied by 7 teachers lead by the Headmistress Ms Jacintha D’Souza.

Rev. Fr Wilfred Prakash D’Souza, Director of SJEC, Rev. Fr Rohith D’Costa & Rev. Fr Alwyn Richard D’Souza, Assistant Directors of SJEC, Dr Rio D’Souza, Principal of SJEC, Mr Rakesh Lobo, HR Manager of SJEC were present. The event was organized by Mr Sathyendra Bhat J & Mr Yathish Kumar, Chairpersons of Industry & Innovation Group of SJEC. Several faculty members of the college including Mr Ashwin Shetty, Mr Ragesh Raju, Mr Ajithanjaya Kumar, Mr Subramanya K and Mr Vinoothan Kaliveer coordinated the event.